Re: GNOME Board of Directors Foundation Elections Spring 2009 - Preliminary results


Diego Escalante Urrelo wrote:
I disagree, afaik we just directly re-used the code received from through you (iirc). Which in your March elections used this
same system:

There are 2 things here: the election web pages which record votes (which I modified from GNOME's election pages for Maemo) and the software (and method) used to count the votes.

What I modified for Maemo was the database schema and the php code to record votes for the election. I also added a couple of pages to generate .blt files and display pre-calculated results rather than calculate them on the fly.

And, indeed, looking back at the results I used random STV - the same as Tobias.

Later in the thread:

"We could use fractional transfer if you want - and it could even be
retroactive to this election.

To ensure we weren't running the risk of controversy, I ran the election
under all variants of STV available, with different methods of
calculating thresholds and transfers. I can confirm that under all
scenarios I tried, the results remained the same."

The following message: proposes using fractional transfer because of verifiability, and that is what we will be using in the future.

Let's stick to the process and wait for the MC to come up with a
judgement over the challenge. Meanwhile we can keep discussing ideas for
enhancing the election system/process/method.

OK, agreed.

And, going right back to the start of the thread, using Random Transfer STV with Droop-Static-Whole threshold is a valid thing to do, and with that method, and the order in which people voted, the winners are Behdad Esfahbod, Brian Cameron, Diego Escalante Urrelo, Germán Póo-Caamaño, Jorge Castro, Lucas Rocha, and Vincent Untz.


Dave Neary
GNOME Foundation member
dneary gnome org

[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]