Pango-1.0.0 released

Pango-1.0.0 is now available for download at:

Pango is a library for layout and rendering of text, with an emphasis
on internationalization. Pango can be used anywhere that text layout
is needed; however, most of the work on Pango-1.0 was done using the
GTK+ widget toolkit as a test platform. Pango forms the core of text
and font handling for GTK+-2.0.

Pango is designed to be modular; the core Pango layout can be used
with four different font backends:

 - Core X windowing system fonts
 - Client-side fonts on X using the Xft library
 - Direct rendering of scalable fonts using the FreeType library
 - Native fonts on Microsoft backends

Dynamically loaded modules then handle text layout for particular
combinations of script and font backend. Pango-1.0.0 ships with a wide
selection of modules, including modules for Hebrew, Arabic, Hangul, 
Thai, and a number of Indic scripts. Virtually all of the world's major 
scripts are supported.

As well as the low level layout rendering routines, Pango includes
PangoLayout, a high level driver for laying out entire blocks of text,
and routines to assist in editing internationalized text.

More information about Pango is available from

Pango depends on version 2.0.0 of the GLib library; more information
about GLib can be found at

Special thanks to:

Robert Brady (Indic shapers), Hans Breuer (Windows backend), Matthias
Clasen (Documentation), Sivaraj Doddannan (Tamil shaper), Dov Grobgeld
(Hebrew shaper), Karl Koehler (Arabic shaper), Alex Larsson (FreeType
and Windows backends), Tor Lillqvist (FreeType and Windows backends),
Changwoo Ryu (Hangul shaper), Havoc Pennington, Roozbeh Pournader
(Arabic shaper), Chookij Vanatham (Hebrew shaper), to Keith Packard,
for Xft, and to the authors of the FriBidi library.

Thanks to all Pango contributors, including:

Darin Adler, Martin Baulig, Frank Belew, Jacob Berkman, Dennis Björklund, 
Jonathan Blandford, Ross Campbell, Anders Carlsson, Arnaud Charlet, 
Erwann Chenede, Abel Cheung, Dennis Dementiev, Miroslaw Dobrzanski-Neumann, 
Jens Finke, Martin Gansser, Tony Graham, Raja R Harinath, Adrian Havill, 
James Henstridge, ChiDeok Hwang, Tim Janik, Michael Jansson, 
KUSANO Takayuki, Elliot Lee, Raph Levien, Evan Martin, Toshio MARUYAMA, 
Paolo Molaro, Arjan J. Molenaar, Michael Natterer, Sven Neumann, 
Padraig O'Briain, Gediminas Paulauskas, Laszlo Peter, Joshua Pritikin, 
Soeren Sandmann, Pablo Saratxaga, Manish Singh, HideToshi Tajima, 
Raymond Wan, Richard Warren, Sebastian Wilhelmi, Matt Wilson

Owen Taylor
11 March 2002

[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]