GLib 2.16.0 released

GLib 2.16.0 is now available for download at:

glib-2.16.0.tar.bz2   md5sum: 9b1e503956265050bc0bfd9feb2cc2d2
glib-2.16.0.tar.gz    md5sum: cef42df31db72345d1a35322152530ef

GLib is the low-level core library that forms the basis for projects
such as GTK+ and GNOME. It provides data structure handling for C,
portability wrappers, and interfaces for such runtime functionality 
as an event loop, threads, dynamic loading, and an object system.

GLib 2.16 is a stable release adding an incremental improvement
in functionality over GLib 2.14 while maintaining binary and
source compatibility. 

Major new features include:

 * GIO: a VFS API, designed to replace GnomeVFS. The GIO implementation
   in GLib has support for local filesystems. The new, separate gvfs
   module contains various backend implementations (cifs, ftp, sftp,
   http, ...)

 * GChecksum: a utility to provide a central implementation of 
   various hash algorithms such as MD5, SHA-1 and SHA-256

 * A test framework

For more details and lists of fixed bugs, see the
announcements of the 2.15.x development releases:

More information about GLib is available at:

The GLib Team:

 Hans Breuer, Matthias Clasen, Tim Janik, Tor Lillqvist,
 Manish Singh, Owen Taylor, and Sebastian Wilhelmi

Special thanks to Alexander Larsson for his work on GIO and Gvfs

Thanks to all the GLib 2.16 contributors, including
Adam Dingle
Aidan Delaney
Alvaro Lopez Ortega
Andre Klapper
Andrew Walton
Andrey Tsyvarev
Areg Beketovski
Asbjoern Pettersen
Bastien Nocera
Behdad Esfahbod
Benjamin Otte
Carlos Garcia Campos
Charles Kerr
Christian Kellner
Christian Persch
Cody Russell
Cosimo Cecchi
Dan Winship
David Zeuthen
Diego Escalante Urrelo
Emmanuele Bassi
Felix Riemann
Frederic Crozat
Jakub Jelinek
Jasper Lievisse Adriaanse
Jean-Yves Lefort
Jens Granseuer
Jerry Yu
Joe Marcus Clarke
Johan Dahlin
Jonathon Jongsma
Jürg Billeter
Kouhei Sutou
Loïc Minier
Marco Barisione
Mark Doliner
Mark Lee
Mathias Hasselmann
Matt Barnes
Matti Katila
Michael Meeks
Michael Natterer
Michael Rasmussen
Mikael Hermansson
Milan Crha
Morten Welinder
Murray Cumming
Padraig O'Briain
Paolo Borelli
Patrick Hulin
Pedro de Medeiros
Peter Kjellerstedt
Peter Moulder
Philippe Blain
Ryan Lortie
Samuel Cormier-Iijima
Sebastian Dröge
Sebastien Bacher
Simon Murray
Søren Sandmann
Stefan Schulze Frielinghaus
Sven Herzberg
Sven Neumann
Sylvain Pasche
Takao Fujiwara
Tim-Philipp Müller
Tomas Bzatek
Tommi Komulainen
Vincent Untz
Vlad Grecescu
Wouter Bolsterlee
Yevgen Muntyan
Дилян Палаузов

March 10, 2008
Matthias Clasen

[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]