Re: Disable logout effect ("gray-out" of windows)?

Jon Atkinson wrote:

I've not tried it, but a quick search using GConf suggests you may be
able to change the GConf key:
Yeah, I guess that's one possibly option, but it's not really what I'm after. Changing this setting to "false" will disable the entire logout confirmation sequence, while I really only want to change the screen re-display behaviour. In other words, I'd like to be able to keep the logout prompt, but have the session manager (or whatever) display it without changing the appearance of all other windows.

Good luck,


On Fri, 2005-06-24 at 09:38 +0200, Toralf Lund wrote:
I'll try this one again (no response last time):

When pressing the Log Out button in GNOME, the entire display is redrawn with a special effect (while the logout confirmation dialog is active) to indicate an "insensitive" desktop (as we all know.) This is rather nice for a local display, but if you log in to GNOME via a remote X server, the update takes forever. Is there any way to disable this effect?

- Toralf

gnome-list mailing list
gnome-list gnome org

[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]