GLib 2.28.0 released

GLib 2.28.0 is now available for download at:

sha256 sums:
0605f538e5c022c237c97a34496979ba71d33c7b10b8d8edb84435498a651fb3  glib-2.28.0.tar.bz2
67bb93fb1c6a6b34d2e1ae22e56b2703eef5cb9161a70922a5bea1519ff3f641  glib-2.28.0.tar.gz

GLib is the low-level core library that forms the basis for projects
such as GTK+ and GNOME. It provides data structure handling for C,
portability wrappers, and interfaces for such runtime functionality
as an event loop, threads, dynamic loading, and an object system.

GLib 2.28 is a stable release adding an incremental improvement
in functionality over GLib 2.26 while maintaining binary and
source compatibility.

Major new features include:

* GSettings:
 - The schema compiler will now skip over broken .xml schemas
 - Endianness problems have been fixed
 - Better support for ranges

* The gsettings utility
 - Supports ranges too
 - Gained a list-recursively command
 - Has completion support for enumeration values

* GApplication has been rewritten; see the API docs for details
  and examples. The action support is not complete yet.

* GAppInfo:
 - GIO now uses x-scheme-handler mimetypes when looking for default
   applications. The gio-desktop-app-info-lookup extension point is
   no longer used.
 - The g_desktop_app_info_launch_* functions now emit a DBus signal
   when an application is launched.

* GMain:
 - The mainloop has gained 'dispatch to context' functionality,
   which can replace manually created idle sources in many cases.
 - GLib is now linked against librt and uses monotonic time for
   timeouts and for GTimer.

* The Unicode support has been updated for Unicode 6.0.

* The included PCRE has been updated to 8.12.

For more details and lists of fixed bugs, see the
announcements of the 2.27.x development releases:

More information about GLib is available at:

The GLib Team:

 Hans Breuer, Matthias Clasen, Tim Janik, Tor Lillqvist,
 Manish Singh, Owen Taylor, and Sebastian Wilhelmi

Thanks to all contributors, including
Alberto Garcia
Andre Klapper
Bastien Nocera
Behdad Esfahbod
Benjamin Gilbert
Benjamin Otte
Chris Kühl
Christian Dywan
Christian Persch
Chun-wei Fan
Claude Paroz
Colin Walters
Cosimo Cecchi
Daiki Ueno
Damien Lespiau
Dan Winship
David Zeuthen
Emilio Pozuelo Monfort
Emmanuele Bassi
Florian Müllner
Javier Jardón
Johan Dahlin
John Palmieri
Matthew Barnes
Michael Natterer
Mikkel Kamstrup Erlandsen
Murray Cumming
Nicolas Dufresne
Paolo Borelli
Pavel Holejsovsky
Peng Huang
Philip Withnall
Ray Strode
Ryan Lortie
Stefan Kost
Stef Walter
Ted Gould
Thomas Hindoe Paaboel Andersen
Thomas Kristensen
Tobias Mueller
Tor Lillqvist
William Jon McCann
Will Thompson
Xavier Claessens

February 8, 2011
Matthias Clasen

[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]