GLib 2.23.3 released

GLib 2.23.3 is now available for download at:

md5 sums:
c7b0f512892c5459e42b378762eec5b6  glib-2.23.3.tar.bz2
c57e3c75e98d333dc0efa6edd97ea6c9  glib-2.23.3.tar.gz

sha1 sums:
9ba908954fbcab7f8b74faf483f83b7ef8d28cf9  glib-2.23.3.tar.bz2
69cfd1221ed731e1e561e2f783c415a948255260  glib-2.23.3.tar.gz

This is the a development release leading up to GLib 2.24.


 * This is unstable development release. While it has had
  a bit of testing, there are certainly plenty of bugs
  remaining to be found. This release should not be used
  in production.

 * Installing this version will overwrite your existing
  copy of GLib 2.22. If you have problems, you'll need
  to reinstall GLib 2.22.

 * GLib 2.24 will be source and binary compatible with
  the GLib 2.22 series; however, the new API additions
  in GLib 2.23 are not yet finalized, so there may be
  incompatibilities between this release and the final
  2.24 release.

 * Bugs should be reported to

About GLib

GLib is the low-level core library that forms the basis for projects
such as GTK+ and GNOME. It provides data structure handling for C,
portability wrappers, and interfaces for such runtime functionality as
an event loop, threads, dynamic loading, and an object system.

More information about GLib is available at:

An installation guide for the GTK+ libraries, including GLib, can
be found at:

Overview of Changes from GLib 2.23.2 to GLib 2.23.3

* GLib now has a facility for locks that consume only one bit of
  storage inside an integer: g_bit_lock()

* GVariant: The serializer has been merged, with more API to follow

* Bugs fixed
 548967 1 bit mutex lock
 604967 2.22.3 libasyncns build fails on HP-UX 11.11
 608602 G_VALUE_COLLECT_INIT variables shadow those in G_VALUE_COLLECT
 608743 Crash in g_hostname_to_ascii visiting certain website...
 599197 array ref and unref functions crash on NULL array.
 608159 mem leak in g_io_modules_scan_all_in_directory

* Translation updates
 Brazilian Portuguese
 Norwegian bokmål

Thanks to all contributors:
Martin Pitt
Javier Jardón
Christian Dywan
Behdad Esfahbod
Ryan Lortie
Andre Klapper
Philip Withnall
Dan Winship
Tor Lillqvist
River Tarnell
Krzesimir Nowak
Hans Breuer
Tim-Philipp Müller

February 9, 2010
Matthias Clasen

[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]