GLib 2.22.0 released

GLib 2.22.0 is now available for download at:

sha1 sums:
dae057cb116c87ada58fbaae9897c71e9da20d06  glib-2.22.0.tar.bz2
6e1b48b0a65b7636f67306b93be7d3308c236a91  glib-2.22.0.tar.gz

md5 sums:
e0bc5b08d467cc3763550923087772d3  glib-2.22.0.tar.bz2
56045822a5fbe22053a9447378098381  glib-2.22.0.tar.gz

GLib is the low-level core library that forms the basis for projects
such as GTK+ and GNOME. It provides data structure handling for C,
portability wrappers, and interfaces for such runtime functionality
as an event loop, threads, dynamic loading, and an object system.

GLib 2.22 is a stable release adding an incremental improvement
in functionality over GLib 2.20 while maintaining binary and
source compatibility.

Major new features include:

* GArray, GPtrArray, GByteArray, GTree and GMappedFile can be reference

* GLib can be forced to reload the XDG user directory mapping.

* The GLib mainloop supports per-thread default contexts.

* GIO now provides types and methods for IP addresses and UNIX domain
  socket addresses.

* GResolver provides asynchronous and cancellable APIs for resolving
  hostnames, reverse lookup of IP addresses and resolving SRV records.

* Support for network IO has been added to GIO, including low-level
  socket API and high-level API for network connections and services.

* GIOStream and its subclasses have gained support for read-write

* GIO supports starting and stopping of drives, which can be used
  in connection with external hard disk enclosures, disk arrays, iSCSI
  devices, etc.

* GIO supports user interaction during unmount and eject operations.

* GIO can store and retrieve per-file metadata.

For more details and lists of fixed bugs, see the
announcements of the 2.21.x development releases:

More information about GLib is available at:

The GLib Team:

 Hans Breuer, Matthias Clasen, Tim Janik, Tor Lillqvist,
 Manish Singh, Owen Taylor, and Sebastian Wilhelmi

Thanks to all contributors, including
Alexander Larsson
Andy Shevchenko
Behdad Esfahbod
Benjamin Otte
Carlos Garnacho
Christian Dywan
Christian Persch
Craig Loftus
Daniel Atallah
Dan Winship
David King
David Zeuthen
Frédéric Péters
Hans Breuer
James Hunt
Jani Monoses
Johan Bilien
Jonathon Jongsma
Lin Ma
Luca Ferretti
Martin Nordholts
Mart Raudsepp
Michael Meeks
Ondrej Jirman
Paolo Borelli
Paul Pogonyshev
Philip Withnall
Richard Hughes
Robert Bragg
Ryan Lortie
Shixin Zeng
Sjoerd Simons
Stefan Kost
Thiago Macieira
Tom Parker
Tristan van Berkom

September 22, 2009
Matthias Clasen

[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]