GLib 2.10.0 released

GLib 2.10.0 is now available for download at:

glib-2.10.0.tar.bz2   md5sum: 60c9f62979415bcb82f0b87d6785dc3b
glib-2.10.0.tar.gz    md5sum: e8281a059dd824cc0ff9e12a1bce7569

GLib is the low-level core library that forms the basis for projects
such as GTK+ and GNOME. It provides data structure handling for C,
portability wrappers, and interfaces for such runtime functionality as
an event loop, threads, dynamic loading, and an object system.

GLib 2.10 is a stable release adding an incremental improvement
in functionality over GLib 2.8 while maintaining binary and
source compatibility. Major new features include:

 * The Unicode support has been updated to Unicode 4.1.

 * A new 'slice allocator' replaces GMemChunk.

 * A new type, GInitiallyUnowned, provides a common implementation
   of 'floating references'.

 * GAsyncQueue and GThreadPool can have sort functions now.

Miscellaneous new functions
 * g_atomic_int_set(), g_atomic_pointer_set() allow to atomically
   set integers and pointers.
 * g_date_set_time_t(), g_date_set_time_val() allow to set GDate
   from time_t or GTimeVal values.
 * g_hash_table_ref(), g_hash_table_unref() are refcounting
 * g_intern_string(), g_intern_static_string() return an interned
   version of a string.
 * g_main_context_is_owner() determines if the current thread
   owns the context.
 * g_thread_foreach() iterates over all GThreads.
 * g_thread_pool_set_max_idle_time() can be used to specify
   an idle time before threads are returned to the global pool.

More information about GLib is available at:

The GLib Team:

 Hans Breuer, Matthias Clasen, Tim Janik, Tor Lillqvist,
 Manish Singh, Owen Taylor, and Sebastian Wilhelmi

Thanks to all the GLib 2.10 contributors, including:

Alberto Ruiz, Alexis S. L. Carvalho, Alex Larsson,
Andreas Schwab, Andrew Paprocki, Andy Wingo, Arjan van de Ven,
Behdad Esfahbod, Benedikt Meurer, Billy Biggs, Bogdan Nicula,
Christian Kellner, Christian Persch, Chris Wilson, Clytie Siddall,
Daichi Kawahata, Dan Williams, Dan Yefimov, David Schleef,
Declan Naughton, J. Ali Harlow, Jani Monoses, Jens Granseuer,
Kang Jeong-Hee, Kazuki Iwamoto, Kjartan Maraas, Larry Ewing,
Laszlo Peter, Luca Ferretti, Marc Moorcroft, Mark Drago,
Martyn Russell, Matthew F. Barnes, Maurizio Monge, Michael
Meeks, Michal Benes, Morten Welinder, Murray Cumming,
Nicolas Caniart, Paolo Borelli, Roger Leigh, Sebastien Bacher,
Stanislav Brabec, Sven Herzberg, The Written Word,
Tim-Philipp Müller, Vincent Untz

Matthias Clasen
Feb 24, 2006

[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]