[Gimp-developer] Re : download.dk - malicious or just sub-par?

--- En date de : Jeu 20.12.12, Michael Schumacher <schumaml gmx de> a écrit :

> Hi,
> we've been approached by download.dk about an "award" GIMP
> seems to have won on their site. They suggested to add this
> award to www.gimp.org with the usual link back to their
> site...
> Upon inspecting their GIMP download page, I'm not really
> sure if this is an elaborate scam, or just a sub-par try of
> implementing a downloads site:
> A strange "driver update" setup called "installer.exe" is
> more likely to be downloaded from their downloads page than
> the software the user intends to get. The link to this
> software is much more prominent.
> I tried to send them a mail about this problem, but that
> message was returned with a "no mail exchangers for that
> domain", and the message shows some mailmarketing.com
> forwarding addresses.
> Has anyone got opinions about or experiences with this
> site?

The most probable explanation is some [hacked or] malicious web site trying to gain from the reputation of a renown product to spread malicious software instead of the true Gimp installer. Least I'd expect from a third party web site is to link or at most proxy download requests. In this very case it's obvious they didn't. Plus the fact that the domain has no mail exchanger shall trigger an alarm lamp string and put the threat level in maximum DEFCON.

My 2¢.

Vince C.

> Reagrds,
> Michael
> _______________________________________________
> gimp-developer-list mailing list
> gimp-developer-list gnome org
> https://mail.gnome.org/mailman/listinfo/gimp-developer-list

[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]