GLib-2.0.0 released

GLib-2.0.0 is now available for download at:

GLib is the low-level core library that forms the basis for projects
such as GTK+ and GNOME. It provides data structure handling for C,
portability wrappers, and interfaces for such runtime functionality as
an event loop, threads, dynamic loading, and an object system.

While highly compatible with GLib-1.2, GLib-2.0 offers a large amount
of additional new functionality, including:

 * The GObject library, which provides object oriented programming 
   for C with:

   - Support for accessing GObject-based libraries from other
     programming languages
   - Signals (events) and properties, with runtime introspection. 
   - Multiple interfaces
   - Dynamically loadable and unloadable object implementations

 * Unicode manipulation functions:

   - Conversion between different encodings of Unicode
   - Character property determination
   - Normalization, case folding and collation

 * Character encoding conversion based on the system's iconv or
   GNU libiconv.

 * Enhanced thread support:
    - A complete abstraction around the system's thread library.
    - Thread pools and queues for inter-thread communication

 * GSpawn functionality for launching processes in a convenient
   and portable manner.

 * A standard mechanism (GError) for error reporting.

 * Enhanced IO Channel abstraction including buffering and streaming
   encoding conversion.

 * GMarkup, a simple parser for XML-like data.

 * Enhancements to the GLib main loop to allow multiple independent
   main loops to be used in different threads, and for better integration
   of the GLib main loop with other main loops.

More information about GLib is available at:

The GLib 2.0 Team:

Hans Breuer, Matthias Clasen, Tor Lillqvist, Tim Janik, Havoc Pennington, 
Ron Steinke, Owen Taylor, and Sebastian Wilhelmi

Thanks to all the GLib 2.0 contributors, including:

Ali Abdin, Darin Adler, Shawn T. Amundson, Ola Andersson, James Antill, 
J. Rhett Aultman, Timur Bakeyev, Martin Baulig, Jacob Berkman, 
Jonathan Blandford, Chris Blizzard, Jonas Borgström, Robert Brady, 
Marcus Brinkmann, Anders Carlson, Wan-Teh Chang, Arnaud Charlet, Abel Cheung, 
Bernd Demian, Miroslaw Dobrzanski-Neumann, Friedrich Dominicus, Daniel Egger, 
Daniel Elstner, Tony Gale, Jeff Garzik, Tom Geiger, Boyd Lynn Gerber, 
Ben Gertzfield, Scott Gifford, Raja R Harinath, David Helder, James Henstridge, 
Jakub Jelinek, Sverre Johansen, Benjamin Kahn, Charles Kerr, Valdis Kletnieks, 
Ron Koerner, Gady Kozma, Paul Kuykendall, Mathieu Lacage, 
Christopher James Lahey, Andrew Lanoix, Alexander Larsson, George Lebl, 
Elliot Lee, Eric Lemings, Ryan Lovett, Josh MacDonald, Kjartan Maraas, 
Mark McLoughlin, Michael Meeks, Jose Mercado, Arkadiusz Miskiewicz, 
Paolo Molaro, Skip Montanaro, Mark Murnane, Michael Natterer, Dave Neary, 
Karl Nelson, Sven Neumann, Jonas Oberg, Padraig O'Briain, David Odin, 
Katsuhiro Okuno, Stefan Ondrejicka, Garry R. Osgood, Andreas Persenius, 
Laszlo Peter, Asbjorn Pettersen, Joshua N. Pritikin, Michael Pruett, 
Cesar Rincon, Pavel Roskin, Andres Salomon, Manish Singh, Jeffrey Stedfast, 
HideToshi Tajima, Andrew Taylor, Jon Trowbridge, Denis Vakatov, 
Jari Vuoksenranta, Morten Welinder, David A. Wheeler, Andy Wingo, Dan Winship, 
Jerome Zago, Peter Zelezny

11 March 2002

[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]