RELEASE: GStreamer Base Plug-ins 0.10.9 'I walk the line'

This mail announces the release of GStreamer Base Plug-ins 0.10.9 'I walk the line'.

GStreamer Base Plug-ins is a well-groomed and well-maintained collection of
GStreamer plug-ins and elements, spanning the range of possible types of
elements one would want to write for GStreamer.  It also contains helper
libraries and base classes useful for writing elements.
A wide range of video and audio decoders, encoders, and filters are included.

For more information, see []
To file bugs, go to []
Release notes for GStreamer Base Plug-ins 0.10.9 "I walk the line"

The GStreamer team is proud to announce a new release
in the 0.10.x stable series of the
GStreamer Base Plug-ins.

The 0.10.x series is a stable series targeted at end users.
It is not API or ABI compatible with the stable 0.8.x series.
It is, however, parallel installable with the 0.8.x series.

This module contains a set of reference plugins, base classes for other
plugins, and helper libraries.

This module is kept up-to-date together with the core developments.  Element
writers should look at the elements in this module as a reference for
their development.

This module contains elements for, among others:

  device plugins: x(v)imagesink, alsa, v4lsrc, cdparanoia
  containers: ogg
  codecs: vorbis, theora
  text: textoverlay, subparse
  sources: audiotestsrc, videotestsrc, gnomevfssrc
  network: tcp
  audio processing: audioconvert, adder, audiorate, audioscale, volume
  visualisation: libvisual
  video processing: ffmpegcolorspace
  aggregate elements: decodebin, playbin

Other modules containing plug-ins are:

contains a set of well-supported plug-ins under our preferred license
contains a set of well-supported plug-ins, but might pose problems for
contains a set of less supported plug-ins that haven't passed the
    rigorous quality testing we expect

Features of this release
      * Parallel installability with 0.8.x series
      * Threadsafe design and API
      * Subtitle fixes
      * Support for images in tags
      * Playback improvements
      * Gnomevfssrc now supports burn:// uris
      * Videoscale now supports more RGBA formats
      * Multifdsink improvements
      * Testsuite can now generate coverage information

Bugs fixed in this release
      * 347296 : Problems with clocks on alsasrc hangs the application
      * 347295 : [vorbisdec] Pushes before being initialized
      * 329798 : [playbin] doesn't always give correct error message for m...
      * 342085 : [alsasink] doesn't set buffer-time correctly
      * 342789 : [audioresample] doesn't clear state when stopped, causing...
      * 343303 : [subparse] workaround for bad entities in sami parser
      * 343385 : [gnomevfs] add support for burn:// URIs
      * 343500 : [riff] gst_riff_parse_strf_vids() can't parse extra data.
      * 343699 : oggmux leaks
      * 344503 : [subparse] parse font face property in sami parser.
      * 345131 : [PATCH] videoscale support for 32-bit RGB-formats
      * 345206 : [textoverlay] crash with non-UTF8 input
      * 345225 : [theoradec] Clipping for exact seeking
      * 345641 : [API] [libgsttag] add enums for image tag type
      * 345879 : [riff] won't play a .wmv file with WMVA video stream
      * 346581 : [typefinding] recognise text/html
      * 347514 : vorbisenc test often fails under valgrind
      * 347221 : [audioconvert] channel remapping does not work right
      * 347304 : Massive leaks with xvimagesink
      * 346527 : alsasrc get_range does not respect requested size


You can find source releases of gst-plugins-base in the download directory:

GStreamer Homepage

More details can be found on the project's website:

Support and Bugs

We use GNOME's bugzilla for bug reports and feature requests:


CVS is hosted on
All code is in CVS and can be checked out from there.
Interested developers of the core library, plug-ins, and applications should
subscribe to the gstreamer-devel list. If there is sufficient interest we
will create more lists as necessary.

Contributors to this release
      * Alessandro Decina
      * Andy Wingo
      * Cody Russell
      * Edward Hervey
      * Jan Schmidt
      * Lutz Mueller
      * Michael Sheldon
      * Michael Smith
      * Philip Jaegenstedt
      * Sebastien Moutte
      * Stefan Kost
      * Thomas Vander Stichele
      * Tim-Philipp Müller
      * Wim Taymans
      * Young-Ho Cha

[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]